Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

It’s been a while since I’ve updated Kitchen Corner with a new recipe. Not pointing fingers, but I think that it’s my guest bathroom‘s fault. Anyhow, this recipe is a tried and true chicken pot pie that I’ve made countless times. It’s always a crowd pleaser. The recipe makes two 9″ pies. The only thing lacking with this recipe currently is that I haven’t made my own crust. I’ve been using Pillsbury crusts, but what I would like to do is make my own buttery, flaky crust. If you know of a good recipe, please let me know in the comments!

potpie1

I believe that I first found a very basic recipe online, but altered it significantly, multiple times to come to this one. I can’t remember where I found the original one, and I can’t find it because the recipe has changed so much. Sorry, I usually like to post a link to the original, and I can’t do that this time. 😦

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients

  • 3/4 to 1 lb boneless chicken breast, cubed
  • 2-4 potatoes (depending on size and preference)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup frozen peas (depending on preference)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup frozen carrots (depending on preference)
  • Enough Chicken Broth to cover those ingredients in a pot ( I can usually get by with one box of broth for the entire process of both boiling the ingredients and creating the cream sauce)
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 can Cream of Chicken soup
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)
  • Garlic powder (to taste)
  • 1-3/4 cups Chicken Broth
  • 2/3 cup of milk
  • 2 boxes of Pillsbury pie crusts (or enough crust to have a top and bottom for 2 pies)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Combine cubed chicken, peas, carrots & potatoes in a pan and fill with broth until it’s just covering ( save aside 1-3/4 cups of broth if you don’t want to use the boiling broth later. Both options work well ). It’s important that you use broth to boil these ingredients. The flavor is so much better as opposed to using water. That being said, if you don’t have enough broth, you can top it off with water after having saved out enough broth for the sauce.
  3. Season to taste with salt, pepper and garlic powder then set to boil for 15 minutes and begin on your sauce.
  4. In a sauce pan, cook the onions in butter until soft. Stir in flour, salt, pepper & garlic powder to taste. Slowly stir in milk and simmer until thick.
  5. Slowly add in 1-3/4 cups chicken broth ( you can use some from the boiling pot or some that has been set aside ) and the can of Cream of Chicken soup and stir until well incorporated.
  6. Drain meat and vegetables, then add the now thickened cream sauce to the pot and mix well.
  7. Line two pie pans with bottom crust and add half of the mixture to each pie.
  8. Cover with the top crust, pinching the edges. I take a silicon brush and slather some leftover cream of chicken or sauce on the top and sprinkle on some garlic and salt as well.
  9. Cut a few slits in the top for venting, then bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until the top is a golden brown.
  10. Let sit before eating, then enjoy heartily.

potpie2
Here is a shot of three pies that I made while my parent-in-laws were visiting. This shows the coating of cream of chicken soup and the venting slits that I cut.

potpie3
This is another shot of the finished pie. The filling is seriously delicious, and I really wish that I had remembered to take some shots of it in a dish, but I was too busy eating it. Like, a lot. If you try this out, let me know! I’m excited to see what other people think!

Leave a Reply

